Search This Blog


Eight Branches Of Ayurveda

ayurveda division
Photo by Joanna Kosinska

Ayurveda is divided into eight specialized branches:

1. Internal medicine / Kaya Chikitsa
2. Pediatrics / Kaumara Bhritya
3. Psychiatry / Graha Chikitsa
4. Diseases of eyes, ears, nose, throat and its surgery / Shalakya Tantra
5. Surgery / Shalya Tantra
6. Toxicology / Agada Tantra
7. Rejuvenation therapies / Rasayana Chikitsa
8. Aphrodisiac therapy / Vrisha Chikitsa

Internal Medicine:

Internal medicine is the branch of Ayurveda which deals with metabolism, digestion, transforming food into energy and balancing digestive enzymes. Improper functioning of digestive enzymes can cause metabolic disorders such as fever, cough, nausea, anemia, diarrhea and many more. Treatments include general medications, application of topical medications and 5 unique purification therapies known as Panchakarma.


Pediatrics is the branch of Ayurveda which deals with prenatal and postnatal care of baby and mother. It includes midwifery, diseases of children and their treatments, causes of vitiated breast milk and their treatments, methods of conceptions and how to detect baby's gender during pregnancy. Quality breastfeeding is recommended for healthy child growth. Since children cannot explain their health issues and medications for them must be oral and in low dose, separate branch of Ayurveda is dedicated for them.


Psychiatry is the branch of Ayurveda which deals with diseases of mind and their treatments including epilepsy and schizophrenia. It also includes methods for negative entities removal.


This branch of Ayurveda deals with diseases of eyes, nose, throat, ears, mouth, teeth and head. It includes diagnosis, prevention of diseases, treatments and surgical procedures.


Surgery is the branch of Ayurveda which deals with more than 300 kinds of surgical procedures such as plastic surgery, abdominal surgery, removal of kidney stones and amputation. It is performed only for diseases which cannot be cured by medications. 3000 years ago Ayurvedic surgeons used dead bodies to practice dissections and incisions with 125 sophisticated surgical instruments.

ayurveda surgery
Ancient Ayurvedic surgical instruments


Toxicology is division which study epidemics, water and air pollution, toxic minerals and metals, toxins in plants, vegetables, animals like snakes, spiders and scorpions and other toxins.


Rejuvenation therapy deals with achieving long and healthy life and preventing the body from aging. It includes various therapies and medications for longevity, improved strength of senses and physical strength, smooth skin, enhanced memory, vitality and youth.

Aphrodisiac Therapy:

Aphrodisiac therapy deals with infertility problems in men and women. It includes therapies and medicines for improving sexual powers and virility. 

Author: Ayurveda Tutorials

Related articles: 

History Of Ayurveda

No comments:

Post a Comment