Search This Blog


Heart Chakra: The Center Of Emotional Empowerment

anahata chakra ayurveda

Anahata or Heart chakra is located in the center of the spine near the heart and in the middle of the seven chakras. It is a place where spiritual and earthly chakras meet.
Anahata is associated with spiritual understanding of love, joy, compassion, serenity and gratitude.

Sanskrit word “Anahata” means "unstruck sound" and at the same time it means "pure".
This chakra corresponds to cardiac plexus a branching network of the vessels or nerves situated at the base of the heart that innervates the heart. 

Heart Chakra Characteristics:

- Heart chakra is our fourth chakra.
- It is the seat of the subtle element of Air. People who are able to breathe with ease have healthy Heart chakra.
- It is associated with thymus gland.
- It physically governs heart, lungs, circulation, lymphatic system. It also affects arms and hands.
- The health of Majja dhatu (bone marrow) is dependent on Heart chakra.
- It is the center of emotions and healing.
- It is connected with our sense of touch.
- The associated color is green. Pink is a secondary color of Heart chakra.
- It is directly connected with the Third eye and Crown chakra.
- Heart chakra is considered to be the seat of soul.
- The mantra sound that corresponds to Anahata chakra is YAM.

how to open heart chakra
Photo by Shangyou Shi

An unbalanced Heart chakra may cause several physical and emotional problems. 

1. Physical problems: thoracic spine issues, upper back and shoulders issues, asthma, heart conditions, breathing difficulties, lung cancer, high or low blood pressure, breasts cancer, hands and arms issues, bronchitis, asthma, anemia, irregular heartbeat, clogged arteries, chest pain, sleep apnea, under active thymus, emphysema, pneumonia and allergies.

2. Emotional and psychological problems: avoiding socializing, being withdrawn, lack of empathy, being overly demanding to others, fear of intimacy, jealousy, shyness, trust issues, loneliness, bitterness,  manipulative behavior, feelings of unworthiness, inability to give love, holding grudges, lack of empathy, emotional numbness, constant mood swings, over attachment in relationships, always putting others first, willing to say yes to everything, lacking boundaries and inability to open to others.

If you have any of these problems you need to open your Heart chakra. 
You can open the Heart chakra only after opening the lower chakras: the Root chakra, the Sacral chakra and the Solar plexus chakra.

Slouching, tight muscles in upper body, low lung capacity and perfectionism are also signs of weak Heart chakra.
Loss, rejection, abuse, abandonment and betrayal, breast implants block the Heart chakra.

When the Heart chakra is open, it brings harmony, joy, gratitude, inner peace, divine love and devotion which leads one toward spiritual liberation.

Heart chakra develops the most from age 22 to 28, giving us emotional empowerment.

How To Balance The Heart Chakra

Foods that can help balance the Heart chakra:

Eating green foods  is beneficial for the Heart chakra - 
avocado, green apples, kiwi, green grapes, broad beans, peas, chard, kale, green beans, cucumber, zucchini, lettuce, asparagus, broccoli, Brussels sprouts, green peppers, parsley, spinach, celery, mung beans, green lentils, nettle, arugula, mustard greens, dandelion greens, bok choy, watercress, chives, basil, rosemary, mint, coriander, oregano, parsley, thyme, tarragon, sage, marjoram, aloe vera, spirulina, chlorella, wheatgrass, barley grass and matcha powder. 

how to open heart chakra
Photo by Konstantin Kolosov

Crystals that can help balance the Heart chakra:

Stones like rose quartz, jade, green calcite, emerald, aventurine, tourmaline, malachite, peridot and moldavite can help heal and balance the Heart chakra. 
Place gemstones on your chest while lying down to help open and align the Heart chakra. 

how to open anahata chakra
Photo by Carole Smile

Essential oils and herbs that can balance your Heart chakra:

Rose, geranium, jasmine, bergamont, lavender, yarrow, fennel, pine, sandalwood, cedarwood, eucalyptus, thyme and ylang ylang. 
Put a drop or two of essential oil into a neutral carrier such as sesame oil, jojoba oil, almond oil, coconut oil etc. Gently apply the oil topically by rubbing them over your arms, shoulders, chest and upper back.

- Be surrounded by those who validate you. 
- Be respectful and kind to others.
- Since air is the element of the Heart chakra, open windows every day and let fresh air in your room.
- Spend more time in nature and breathe in the fresh air.
- Stop eating animals.
- Adopt a pet and give them a home.
- Follow your heart more.
- Be open with your emotions.
- Wear green clothes or add some of the color green into you home decor. Green is the color of love, transformation, growth and balance.
- Try belly dancing. Belly dance effectively opens first four chakras.
- Plant some herbs.

heart chakra ayurveda
Photo by Bart Zimny

- Gardening and handcrafting are great hobbies for balancing the Heart chakra.
- Try to look for the good in every situation. 
- Maintain the romantic energy in your relationship.
- Give hugs to people you care about. Being able to show openly some form of physical affection to your parents, children, partner etc will align your heart chakra.
- Get involved with charity work.
- Stop clinging to your feelings.
- Practice bhakti yoga, pranayama (breathing exercises), pushups, swimming and backbends. Yoga asanas that stimulate the energy in Anahata are : the camel pose, the cobra pose, he fish pose, the bridge pose the wheel pose, the cat pose, the eagle pose, the forward bend and many more

anahata chakra asanas
Image by TeenyTinyOm

All the tips mentioned in he text above can help clean and balance the Heart chakra.

When this chakra is activated you feel harmony, happiness, bliss, desire to help others, connection to all living beings and nature and strong sense of identity.

When the Heart chakra is in alignment you will feel be able to form healthy relationship and give and receive unconditional love. 
You will be friendly, generous and you will radiate love. You will attract harmonious situations in your life and be able to enjoy your own company. Acceptance and forgiveness will be your nature and you will form deeper connections with others.

Author: Ayurveda Tutorials

Related articles: 

Root Chakra - The Foundation Of All Chakras

Secrets Of Sacral Chakra

Solar Plexus Chakra - Activate Your Inner Power

No comments:

Post a Comment